Dr. Calvin W. Woods, Jr.,  President                                                                     
Dr. Lionel Davis, Sr., General Secretary  

Click here to  fill in your information, download & print.

2020 Scholarship Application

The Dr. Matthews McGary , Sr. Scholarship Foundation was birthed under the presidency of  Dr. Matthews McGary, Sr.  His vision was to develop a program in the district to help young people who would be attending college.

"We have some of the best and brightest young people even though many of our members were unable to attend college. We have an opportunity to come together to make the dreams of our young people come true".                                                                                                                                                            -Dr. Matthews McGary, Sr.

​​Scholarships have been awarded in the names of the following Presidents and other Department Leaders.

  • Dr. Matthews McGary, Sr.  - High Academic Scholarship
  • Dr. Calvin W. Woods, Jr.,-  Presidential Scholarship
  • Dr. Paul Raphael -Memorial Scholarship
  • ​Dr. Robert Turner, Sr., - Living Legend Scholarship
  • Dr. Zebadee Bridges, Sr. -  Leadership Scholarship
  • Dr. A. Prince Fortner - Special Achievement Scholarship
  • Sis. Naomi L. Grooms - Trailblazer Scholarship
  • Dr. Linda T. Fortenberry - Educational Scholarship
  • Rev. Bazile Jolicoeur - Meritorious Scholarship
  • Dr. Ellis Dupleche - Memorial Scholarship
  • Bro. Joseph Young - Layman’s Scholarship

Since its inception the scholarship foundation has awarded over 600 scholarships and grants to our First District and New Orleans Public Schools students.


Saturday, March 28, 2020
The Hyatt  Regency New Orleans
(Empire A — 2nd Floor)
601 Loyola Ave
New Orleans, LA 70113   
 12:00 p. m. (noon)

Ticket Information coming soon